How Shakespeare Presents Each Group Of Charachters In A Midsummer Night’s Dream

How Shakespeare Presents Each Group Of Charachters In A Midsummer Night’s Dream

The whole play revolves around four main groups: the fairies, the

mechanicals, the royals and the lovers. These four groups all have

their own reasons for ending up together in the same wood. The groups

affect and entwine with each other. An example of this is when Bottom

from the mechanicals is turned into a donkey as part of Oberon the

fairy kings revenge on his wife Titania queen of the fairies. The

lovers are affected because Puck under Oberon’s command changes which

of the lovers loves whom. The royals allow the lovers in the end to

marry as they choose.

The fairies are a magical race they can control the seasons and are

very powerful. Shakespeare’s language shows that the fairies are not

human by using poetic, descriptive and light language with lots of

alliteration, and onomatopoeia, “warbling”. After every line the last

two words rhyme in a rhyming couplet,

“Now, until the break of day,

Through this house each fairy stray.”

There are three main characters in the fairies; Oberon is the fairy

king he arguing with his wife the fairy queen Titania over an Indian

boy. Titania has taken it upon herself to raise and look after the

Indian boy for a friend but Oberon thinks she has had another lover

and that it is his child so he wants it for his servant. This argument

means that the seasons change. Puck the other main character in the

fairies is Oberon’s “right hand man” he is sent to make Titania look

like a fool as Oberon’s revenge.

Puck is Oberon’s jester. He has many names he likes to think himself

as a “merry wanderer of the night”. But he is known to be a “shrewd

and knavish sprite” called “Robin Goodfellow” and a “hobgoblin”. He

gets this name because he plays nasty tricks on people and does not

always do what the king tells him to do. He sometimes, “Skim milk, and

sometimes labour in the quern

Leave a Comment